odp
145 to 168 of 296 locations
-
Plofsluis
Plofsluis
The Plofsluis consists of five concrete bins with a relatively weak floor that span the Amsterdam-Rhine Canal. The bins could store around 40,000 tonnes of sand, gravel or debris. In wartime, the floor could be blow up, so that its contents would drop into the Amsterdam-Rhine Canal. This would block the canal and prevent the inundation water from flowing out. The lock was designed in such a way that its sides would remain upright after the explosion, so that the floor could be reconstructed and the sluice could be used again. It was never actually used.
Plofsluis 0
3439 LS Nieuwegein -
Veenendaal Museum
Veenendaal Museum Kees Stipplein 76
3901 TP Veenendaal -
Lock at Cothen
Lock at Cothen
The water board uses the dam in the Kromme Rijn in Cothen to regulate the flow of water to and from Utrecht. The monumental lock alongside it (from 1865) was used during wartime to move ships past the dam. When the Waterline needed to be flooded, the commander of the inundation station at Wijk bij Duurstede first gave the order to raise the water level in the Kromme Rijn by closing off the lock with stop logs. Next, he ordered the stop logs to be removed so that a large body of water could flow from the open lock to Utrecht.
Kerkweg 24
3945BN Cothen -
Goejanverwelle lock
Goejanverwelle lock
The Goejanverwelle lock and the Enkele Wiericke lock on the Hollandse Ijssel played a key role in the Disaster Year. Together with the lock at Nieuwerbrug on the Oude Rijn, they formed the inlet to the Langeweide polder, which was the narrowest section of the Waterline. The locks were opened on 17 June 1672 – just in time to halt the advance of the French, who had already captured Oudewater and marched right up to the edge of the hastily flooded Waterline. With great promptitude, the commander of the garrison at Goejanverwelle, the Count of Horn, gave the order to raise sconces and fortifications to defend the locks. For the moment, the Waterline was safe!
Goejanverwellesluis
3467 PR Hekendorp -
Café-Restaurant De Lage Vuursche
Café-Restaurant De Lage Vuursche Dorpsstraat 2
3749 AD Lage Vuursche -
Spakenburg Harbour Museum
Spakenburg Harbour Museum
The Old Harbour, also known as the Harbour Museum, dates back to the 13th century. This harbour was built for the ships operated by the Zuiderzee fishermen.
Tap into the history of the fishing village of Spakenburg. Pay a visit to the museum harbour, where culture and traditions come together. Here you’ll find the oldest shipyard in the Netherlands where shipwrights are still hard at work every day, maintaining the world’s biggest fleet of ‘botters’, a special type of wooden, flat-bottomed fishing boat.
In the port of Spakenburg, you'll experience both culture and tradition. The jewel of Spakenburg's port – a museum in its own right – is the oldest shipyard in the Netherlands. From the port, you can see the shipbuilders at work. One-third of the entire Dutch fleet is moored at Spakenburg and you are welcome to come aboard!.
You can enjoy a one-hour sailing trip on a botter while listening to stories from the past, as the skipper lets you relax on the water Oude Schans 86
3752 AH Bunschoten-Spakenburg -
TOP Het Gagelgat
TOP Het Gagelgat Birkstraat 107
3768 HD Soest -
Fort de Batterijen
Fort de Batterijen Fort De Batterijen
Overeindseweg 25
3439LP Nieuwegein -
Het Monnikenbos
Het Monnikenbos Het Monnikenbos
Birkstraat 150
3768 HP SOEST -
Recreatieboerderij De Kleine Weide
Recreatieboerderij De Kleine Weide Biesbosserweg 19
3927 CV Renswoude -
Kerckebosch Castle****
Kerckebosch Castle**** Arnhemsebovenweg 31
3708 AA Zeist -
Canals and shipyards
Canals and shipyards
The Utrecht canals with their wharves and wharf cellars are unique in the world.
The 12th Century Oudegracht was built to change the course of the Oude Rijn river. Connecting the river Vecht in the north to the Vaartsche Rijn in the south, the Oudegracht was destined to become an elongated harbour. Large city castles were built along the canal and in the 13th Century, shipyards were built as second streets at water level. The deep cellars, serving as storage spaces, ran through to below the houses. Today, the canals and shipyards are home to shops, restaurants and private residences.
Oudegracht 0
3511 AZ Utrecht -
Groene Entree Kaapse Bossen
Groene Entree Kaapse Bossen Leersumsestraatweg 0
3941 MN DOORN -
Fort Maarsseveen
Fort Maarsseveen Herenweg 3
3602 AM Maarssen -
TOP Bergse Bossen
TOP Bergse Bossen Bij entree parkeerplaats De Bergse Bossen
Traaij 299
3971 GM Driebergen -
Cheese Warehouse | Cheese Experience
Cheese Warehouse | Cheese Experience VVV Woerden
Emmakade 6A
3441 AJ Woerden -
TOP City harbour Wijk bij Duurstede
TOP City harbour Wijk bij Duurstede Bij stadspoort naar de haven
Havenweg
3961 AW Wijk bij Duurstede -
Utrechtse Heuvelrug National Park
Utrechtse Heuvelrug National Park Amersfoortseweg 98
3941EP Nationaal Park Utrechtse Heuvelrug -
Castellum Hoge Woerd
Castellum Hoge Woerd Hoge Woerdplein 1
3454 PB De Meern -
Stayokay hostel Utrecht-Bunnik
Stayokay hostel Utrecht-Bunnik Rhijnauwenselaan 14b
3981 HH Bunnik -
Batteries on the Karnemelksloot
Batteries on the Karnemelksloot Batterijen aan de Karnemelksloot
Verlengde Fortlaan 116
1411 EA Naarden -
Werk aan het Spoel
Werk aan het Spoel
In 1815, a fan lock was built into the Lekdijk near Goilberdingen for inundation purposes. It was protected by an earthen battery. In 1848, the battery was upgraded to a fort. Later on, the inundation system was optimised, and four bomb-proof buildings were added to the fort. In peacetime, the road on top of the dyke ran right through the fort, but traffic was led around the fort in times of mobilisation. In 1939, seven concrete shelters and two machine gun casemates were added. An unusual feature is the high free-standing wall in a field to the south of the fort. This was the stop butt of a German firing range.
Goilberdingerdijk 40
4106 LC Culemborg -
Nationaal Bomenmuseum Gimborn
Nationaal Bomenmuseum Gimborn Velperengh 13
3941 BZ Doorn -
Ledig Erf
Ledig Erf Ledig Erf
Tolsteegbrug 3
3511 ZN Utrecht